City records first show The Cross (or High Cross as it was known) in 1377 and has been the site of public proclaimations since medieval times. In the 17th century the town crier was permitted to keep a stall at the cross and to take the profits.
During the Civil War it served as a rallying point for Royalist citizens but with their surrender in 1646 to Parliamentary troops after a long siege despite earlier re assurances the cross was destroyed with ornate upper section being lost without trace. The base of the Cross being discovered at Plas Newydd in LLangollen, North Wales circa 1817 where it remains. What was left was hidden under nearby St. Peter's Church until its discovery in 1820 after which it spent some 60 years in a Handbridge garden before being acquired by the 1st Duke of Westminster for the newly open Grosvenor museum.
The city council re-erected the Cross in the Roman Gardens in 1949 before it was finally restored to its original site at the intersection of Chester's four main streets namely: Northgate, Bridge, Eastgate and Watergate in 1975.
Perhaps it was a typical council job as it had only taken 329 years to complete!!!!!!!!!!!!
This user has arrived from Qype, a European company acquired by Yelp in 2012. We have integrated the two sites to bring you one great local experience.