Qype logo Join Yelp

Qype has joined Yelp to bring you more reviews, community and businesses. Read More.

Map
Edit

Recommended Reviews

Your trust is our top concern, so businesses can't pay to alter or remove their reviews. Learn more.
  • 4.0 star rating
    1/6/2013

    We were walking past Shiso on our way to another restaurant but got distracted - shiso are delicious leaves I really like, and there are big plastic geese swoop hanging from the ceiling plus the menu stated that their meat was free-range, or RSPCA standard as a minimum so we changed our plans to try Shiso. And it was good.

    We got avocado rolls, salmon rolls, salmon sashimi, chicken gyoza, shiso edamame and some rolls from the specials called 'ooh la la' rolls that were super good - mmm tempura prawn and avocado rolled in chives. YES. The avocado was deliciously ripe (important) and the salmon was excellent.  I couldn't so much taste any shiso with the edamame but the sashimi came on a shiso leaf which I ate happily. The gyoza were good too, crisp with a flavoursome dip.

    The prices were really reasonable - we spent about £30 for the both of us - and it can be so easy to overspend with sushi I think. Service was friendly and we had no problems.

    I quite like the decor too though it seems sort of half done. It's fun, with some graffiti and the flying geese and fairy lights, then some random strip of wallpaper and animal horns and a big alien. It doesn't quite fill the space and the tables are bit sparse with fake flowers that look like they've died. I think they should forget the lame wallpaper strips and fill the walls with graffiti and throw in more lights, but the decor is less important than the food and the food was good and I'll be going back.

  • 1.0 star rating
    28/3/2009

    Have you read the Inferno?  Remember how Dante passed through the shore of the River Styx while the tortured souls incessantly sprinted back and forth on the cold river bend, forever chased by the swarms of bees, unable to pass into the next life of dining bliss?  Okay so maybe that's not exactley what happened, in Dane's Inferno that is.

    But I would liken this scene to our experience with the new modern Shisho sushi restaurant at Turnpike Lane.  Shiso delivered us the wrong order.  When we called about this issue the hostess and manager refused to right this wrong, claiming we must have told her the wrong thing.  Apparently she had never heard of meeting of the minds.  
    We  attempted to physically return the sushi to the store.  The establishment looked like a modern nightmare, with faux African medicine man masks on the wall and a foosball table where a hostess stand should have been.  We fearlessly approached the sushi bar, our unwanted bounty in hand.  The owner, a vengeful French man who spoke with angry and forceful gesticulations, began his discourse by stating he did not need this because "I get up and take care of the fish every morning...".  Right, you're a sushi restaurant, not the New England Aquarium, Monsieur Mieteron.
    Whatever happened to "the customer is always right"?  
    After this the owner said he had no time for us because he was very busy with other customers.  We glanced around at the empty restaurant which had four people on staff and two customers seated on the premises.  My roommate replied "but we are customers".  To this the agressively obstinant owner replied "No!  You were customers!".  When we then asked for a simple monetary exchange (hey, no lawful contract) he handed us his card and said we could take it up with his solicitor.  Should we have thrown in that we were all barristers then perhaps he would have given us his solicitor's number, rather than his.own.  But at least now we can write this yelp review.  
    I would endorse Shiso if you are masochistic and believe that pride is a dangerous commodity which one must go to extreme lengths to have beaten out of them finally to attain true humility.  If not, go elsewhere.

  • 1.0 star rating
    28/3/2009
    First to Review

    The United Kingdom is in a recession, Gordon Brown is under fire and in the queue of businesses pressed up against the precipice of bankruptcy, this one...needs to fall.  

    Customer Service?  They've never heard of it.  The Sushi "Director" (what? of a sub-par 'sushi' bar?) is named Yannick Bouvier and his bedside manner leaves MUCH to be desired.

    Situation?  Pitifully arduous.  A group of friends and myself ordered sushi---like you do.  We ordered around 52 pounds worth, like you probably shouldn't.  The order was delivered and it was absolutely and positively what we ordered!!!---except NOT. AT. ALL.  I know, I know....a four piece eel roll is oh! so! easily confused with five (seriously?) rolls of spicy tuna? RIGHT??? Who could blame the 'professional establishment' SPECIALIZING in sushi for botching Sushi Basics 101?

    Simple mistake.  We called Shiso and kindly informed them that there must have been a mistake because we were given over 9 rolls of raw fish that we didn't order and not given the 12 that we did.   Easily resolved. Easily remedied.  Unless--of course you've just ordered from Shiso Sushi.  

    Their response?  "We don't make mistakes.  You ordered the wrong thing."  Wow--really?  "But we told you the number that was allocated to the menu option on the menu designed, printed and eventually slipped through my mail slot at MY home."  ---"Well, we change the number system all the time."

    Look Yannick---you're business acumen is paltry at best and yet your organization skills make THAT look impressive.  
    ---So let me get this straight---you give me a menu that you have now arbitrarily decided doesn't apply...and that's MY fault?  
    And HERE'S the clencher--at first--I wasn't asking for my money back--just a simple exchange for the untouched, still packaged WRONG order.  

    Mr. Bouvier INSTEAD decided to cuss me out, and spew out a stream of colorful, derogatory statements in relation to my gender and my nationality.  "Hey, Yannick! Primary school just called---it wants its temper tantrums back."

    Mr. Bouvier THEN informed me that he was too busy to deal with me because he had many customers he needed to tend to.  I should come in person. (there were two people sitting in the empty dining room) So I did.

    On the way there---while crossing the CROSS WALK during the 'stage time' of the little green man simulating a walk---a psychotic motorcyclist runs a red light and comes within 2 inches of running me off of the road ..and this world.  As I turn around to glance at the registration---what do I see???  But a delivery box touting the title "SHISO SUSHI".  Wow.  I mean...I just...wow.

    So I got there and Mr. Bouvier was standing ready, already there spewing poetry--possibly a haiku of some sort---each line starting and/or ending with the F  word.

    So---40 something wasted pounds, 1 near death experience and 1 police report later---I've decided to get on this website and save you all time, energy, dignity and stomach lining.

    Want sushi?  Go to Yo! Where they're actually sushi-aware, kind, hygienically astute and japanese.

    Out of 5 stars--I give Shiso Sushi a rotting goose egg.

    Shiso Sushi--issa no so good!!

    • Qype User conair…
    • London
    • 0 friends
    • 33 reviews
    4.0 star rating
    25/2/2013

    Got a takeaway from here tonight. The best California roll I've had in this country. Some other pieces were a bit over riced though. Ok value (it's sushi, so it's going to be expensive but I do feel a little under full for what I paid) quick delivery time. I was surprised there'd be such a good sushi joint in hornsey. I'll be going to the restaurant itself when I'm feeling flush.

Page 1 of 1